My Tony Awards

I love the Tony Awards. At this time of year, all the new shows are starting up, and it’s hard not to wonder which one will take the big prize. I couldn’t resist choosing my own winners!

This isn’t so much a prediction, it’s just who I would give the award to. I couldn’t see every show, so I’ve just picked from the eleven I saw (even if they’re not from this year).

—click ‘read more’ to see the nominees and winners (in bold)—

Best Featured Actor
Derrick Baskin (as Gator), Memphis
Norbert Leo Butz (as Carl Hanratty), Catch Me if You Can
Joel Grey (as Moonface Martin), Anything Goes
Justin Guarini (as Will), American Idiot

Best Featured Actress
Kerry Butler (as Brenda Strong), Catch Me if You Can
Nikki M. James (as Nabalungi), The Book of Mormon
Kate Shindle (as the Mad Hatter), Wonderland
Jessica Stone (as Erma), Anything Goes
Libby Winters (as Extraordinary Girl), American Idiot

Best Actor
Chad Kimball (as Huey Calhoun), Memphis
Josh Gad (as Elder Cunningham), The Book of Mormon
Andrew Rannells (as Elder Price), The Book of Mormon
Aaron Tveit (as Frank Abagnale Jr.), Catch Me if You Can
Van Hughes (as Johnny), American Idiot

Best Actress
Jennifer Damiano (as Mary Jane), Spiderman
Ashley Brown (as Mary Poppins), Mary Poppins
Sutton Foster (as Reno Sweeney), Anything Goes
Patina Miller (as Deloris van Cartier, Sister Act
Montego Glover (as Felicia Farrell), Memphis

Best Writers
Billie Joe Armstrong, American Idiot
Robert Lopez, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, The Book of Mormon
Marc Shaiman and Terrence McNally, Catch Me if You Can
Joe DiPietro and David Bryan, Memphis

Best Musical
Catch Me if You Can
Anything Goes
The Book of Mormon

Best Play
The Intelligent Homosexual’s Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures
Driving Miss Daisy
(we only saw two plays so I haven’t made any other awards for plays – just assume Driving Miss Daisy won them all!)

My favourite view of Broadway (well besides the stage!).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *